Skip Navigation Website Accessibility
  

STEP 1 - PADI Basic Open Water Class & Pool Broomfield (One Weekend)



 
LEARN TO DIVE!

Have you always had an interest in the ocean and marine life, but feel like you can't get close enough while you're snorkeling? Do you wish you could stay underneath the water for longer than you can while you're skin diving? The PADI Open Water Diver Course offers ocean lovers and outdoor enthusiasts the opportunity to learn the fundamentals of dive equipment, safety, and dive techniques so you don't have to wish anymore- You can do! Give us a call today at 303.469.4477 to start your adventure!
 
  Basic Open Water Certification Requirements 
  • Open Water Diver Materials & DVD ($150 - Purchase Online)
  • Equipment: BCD, Regulator, Tanks, Weights (Included in the Price of the class)
  • Mask, Snorkel & Fins (Not included - Reserve Rental Online)
  • Classroom Work (Included in the price of the class)
    • Knowledge Review Assessment
    • 4 Quizzes
    • Final Exam
  • 5 Confined Water Pool Dives ( Included in the price of the class)
  • 4 Open Water Dives (To be completed after Classroom and Pool Work- $230-$250)
  • Certification Card (Included in the price of the Open Water Dives)

Welcome to the PADI Open Water course, and the beginning of your diving journey! Upon successful completion of the PADI Open Water Diver Course, you'll be ready to head to the ocean and see it from a whole new perspective. Our team of Instructors, Divemasters and shop staff can't wait to help you achieve your diving goals. 

Why PADI Open Water?

As a certified PADI Open Water Diver, the most widely recognized and respected rating in the world, you have the freedom to dive with a buddy independent of a professional. If you already tried a PADI Discover Scuba Diving experience or are PADI Scuba Diver certified, check with your instructor to see how credit from these courses may apply to the open water program.

What are the prerequisites?

Virtually anyone 10 years or older who is in good health, reasonably fit, and comfortable in the water can earn a PADI Open Water Diver certification. If you are between 10 and 14 or have a child between these ages, there is a PADI Junior Open Water Diver program available
  • A PADI Jr. Open Water Diver between the ages of 10 and 12 years may only dive with a PADI Professional, a certified parent or certified guardian to a maximum depth of 12 meters/40 feet
What will I do?

Throughout the course, you’ll learn fundamentals of scuba diving, including dive equipment and techniques. You earn this rating by completing five pool dives and knowledge development sessions and by making four open water (ocean or lake) dives.

How long will it take?

PADI programs are performance based. You proceed as you demonstrate mastery of the course skills. This allows you to work at a pace that is comfortable for you. Typically class and pool work are completed in one weekend, followed by 4 open water dives over another weekend. See our Open Water Schedule here- schedule.

Where is the Pool located?
Broomfield Community Center, 280  Spader Way, Broomfield, CO 80020, Ph: 303.464.5500

What will I need?
Where can I go from here?

Continue your scuba adventure with PADI’s Advanced Open Water program, your next step in exploring the underwater world. Stop by Flatirons Scuba and Travel or call us at 303-469-4477 for more information on the PADI Adventures In Diving program.

Signup information

Please download the forms below * and read them prior to signing up for class.   The first form will provide details on the Basic Open Water Classroom & Pool.   The second form is the required Medical form. Please fill in all of the blanks with either a YES or NO.  If you answer NO to all of the questions, no further action is required.  If you answer YES to any of the questions it is required that you get the second page of the document signed off by your doctor prior to getting into the pool.

*Flatirons Scuba Basic Open Water Student agreement form
*PADI Medical statement


Important Information about class: 

Students are required to complete the knowledge reviews found at the end of each chapter in the Open Water Manual prior to attending class. We typically recommend that students give themselves a minimum of one week to read the book, complete the knowledge reviews, and watch the DVD to ensure they are prepared. 

*Each student is required to have a PADI Student Record File folder, no exceptions. It is important that you pay special attention to the PADI Medical Questionnaire on the inside of the folder. You must write the word YES or NO on the questionnaire in order for it to be considered valid. If you have any YES's on the questionnaire, you must have your physician sign a PADI medical statement (found above) before you can get in the pool. 

If you are planning on completing your Open Water dives with us after you complete class, please make sure you read the important information sections on both of the web pages for our local Summer dives and our Winter dives at Homestead Crater to ensure you choose the location that best fits you, and to give yourself sufficient time to plan. 

What if I don't have time for a traditional class?

 

Sign up for PADI eLearning now!

 **NOTE: Anyone under the age of 15 doing PADI eLearning will be required to participate in the full duration of the classroom session

elearning gif

 

 


Skill Level:
beginner
Materials Included:
BCD, wetsuit, tanks, weights & regulator. Does NOT include mask, snorkel & fins.

STEP 1 - PADI Basic Open Water Class & Pool Broomfield (One Weekend)

Cost:
$ 245.00
Does not include your Materials OR Mask, Snorkel & Fins
BCC Oct 3:   Sat, Oct 23, 2021 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Oct 24, 2021 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC Oct 4:   Sat, Oct 30, 2021 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Oct 31, 2021 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC Nov 1:   Sat, Nov 6, 2021 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Nov 7, 2021 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC Nov 2:   Sat, Nov 13, 2021 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Nov 14, 2021 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC Nov 3:   Sat, Nov 27, 2021 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Nov 28, 2021 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC Dec 1:   Sat, Dec 4, 2021 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Dec 5, 2021 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC Dec 2:   Sat, Dec 11, 2021 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Dec 12, 2021 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC Jan 1:   Sat, Jan 15, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Jan 16, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC Jan 2:   Sat, Jan 22, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Jan 23, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC Jan 3:   Sat, Jan 29, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Jan 30, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC Feb 1:   Sat, Feb 5, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Feb 6, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC Feb 2:   Sat, Feb 19, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Feb 20, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC Feb 3:   Sat, Feb 26, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Feb 27, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC Mar 1:   Sat, Mar 5, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Mar 6, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC Mar 2:   Sat, Mar 19, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Mar 20, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC Mar 3:   Sat, Mar 26, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Mar 27, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC April 1:   Sat, Apr 2, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Apr 3, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC April 2:   Sat, Apr 16, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Apr 17, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC April 3:   Sat, Apr 23, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Apr 24, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC April 4:   Sat, Apr 30, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, May 1, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC May 1:   Sat, May 7, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, May 8, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC May 2:   Sat, May 14, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, May 15, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC May 3:   Sat, May 28, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, May 29, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC June 1:   Sat, Jun 4, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Jun 5, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC June 2:   Sat, Jun 11, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Jun 12, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart

BCC June 3:   Sat, Jun 25, 2022 at 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
Sun, Jun 26, 2022 at 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Add to Cart